Pupil Spotlight – Lucy

Head Girl at Normanhurst School in North Chingford, Lucy, on her dreams of seeing the world and her potential future career in law.

Who are you and what do you like to do?

My name is Lucy, I am 16 years old and am currently studying for my GCSE’s at Normanhurst School (where I have been a student since Reception). I enjoy spending time with my family and friends as well as baking, fencing and playing the guitar.

Where do you live and what do you like about it?

I have recently moved from North Chingford to Upshire. I love that my new house has a large garden, which has lots of wildlife including Tolly the noisy, local peacock.

Tell us about your family

I live with my mum and dad, my 10-year-old brother and sister (who are twins) and currently my grandfather. We are a very busy family, who like spending time together outdoors with our much-loved family dog Chippy. We have lots of adventurous holidays and days out. We have canoed down the Ardeche, camped in a hurricane and climbed Mount Snowdon. We also enjoy spending time with other members of the family such as my aunt, uncle and cousins who live close by. Before Covid we had lots of family trips to watch West Ham.

Can you sum your family up in one sentence?

We are noisy, chaotic and always late but have a good time when we are together.

What is the most exciting thing that has happened to you over the past year?

Despite Covid quite a lot of things have happened. I was very excited to be offered the position of Head Girl at Normanhurst School, which has included many roles of responsibility, such as recording speeches for the school’s virtual Open Events. I have also moved to a new house, went to the top of the Shard and visited Jamacia Inn, the setting of one of my favourite books by Daphne Du’Maurier.

Who are your biggest influences?

My grandmother recently passed away from Covid, she was someone that I really admired and she taught me many things. I get my love of baking from her and she always quietly encouraged everything I did. I am also inspired by many of the powerful female role-models of today such as Michelle Obama and Malala. Watching David Attenborough also really influenced my love of the natural world and concern for the environment.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years’ time?

In 5 years’ time, I hope to be at university. Although I am still unsure what I would like to study, I am considering a career in law. I really hope by then that student life has gone back to how it should be and that I have strong group of friends to go out and have fun with.

What are your hobbies?

I took up fencing a couple of years ago and qualified for the British National Youth finals, only for it to be cancelled last year, however my club is about to get up and running again so I am looking forward to sparring with my friends soon. I have also recently got into yoga.

How do you relax?

When I feel like I need to relax, nothing is better than reading a book if I can find a quiet corner, or taking my dog for a walk.

What is your all-time favourite food?

My all-time favourite food has to be a Wagamama katsu curry. During lockdown, my dad has managed to cook a surprisingly good copy. My godparents own Bombetta London and I also enjoy going there with my family for amazing Italian food.

What or who makes you smile?

I have many wonderful friends and I am really enjoying seeing them again in and out of school. Seeing my dad’s reaction when I dye my sister’s hair is also guaranteed to make me laugh.

What is your worst habit?

I have a bad habit of spending all my allowance on clothes as soon as I get it and then having nothing left to spend on things I actually need.

Do you have a claim to fame?

My dad likes to pretend that we are related to Bobby Moore! He did open my grandfather’s shop in the 1970s though. In my family, I am famous for injuring myself on holiday and I have never been able to live down falling out of a treehouse in my cousin’s garden in America.

Tell us something that might surprise us about you

Despite coming from a close family, I have always dreamt about travelling the world and maybe living abroad someday.